Skip to content

Honolulu Academy of Arts

May 20, 2012
tags:

Walked over to the Honolulu Academy of Arts after church today. Admission is free on the third Sunday of each month. It was my first time there since I was a little kid. They recently changed their name to the Honolulu Museum of Art to attract more visitors. There’s a gift shop, café, garden, exhibitions, and special evening events.

Since it was a Family Sunday, there were craft activities and entertainment. There were a number of dance performances and beatbox artist Jason Tom.

I have to say that I was extremely impressed (shocked) with the art collection. I had no idea. When I saw works by Picasso and Gauguin, I thought “no way.” I expected to see a strong Pacific collection, but not art from Egypt, China, and the Italian Renaissance.

I will definitely go back again.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2012 1:07 pm

    Hello, I love your post. Would you be happy for me to reblog it with acknowledgement?

    • alantamayose permalink*
      May 21, 2012 3:22 pm

      sure. no problem at all. thank you.

Leave a Reply

