Skip to content

San Diego Trip

June 28, 2012
tags:

Very blessed to have attended the ISTE Education Technology Conference with my Kamehameha Schools EdTech team. Here are my posts from the conference.

We arrived late Saturday night and checked into Hotel Solamar. It’s a great boutique hotel in the Gaslamp Quarter. They played Ed Sheeran music poolside.

The Gaslamp Quarter is all about restaurants & pubs and is right across from the convention center.

I spent my free day visiting Balboa Park. It’s an awesome place filled with gardens and museums. And it’s free. The concierge told me where to catch the bus. Unfortunately, on Sundays you have to walk up to the college trolley station. When I checked my iPhone map I was halfway there, so I ended up just walking the entire two miles uphill. It was definitely worth it!

We had cool places to eat right around the hotel. We were three blocks away from the convention center and two blocks from the baseball stadium. On 5th Avenue, you could find everything from a good steak, to gelato, to an ice cold glass of Stone IPA.

A highlight for me was when our group took the trolley into Old Town.

Old Town is really…. old town. It’s filled with shops (souvenirs, taffy, candles, cigars, tile, beef jerky, etc.) We sampled the beer tasting & wine tasting in a saloon on our way to the Casa Guadalajara for dinner.

It was great having authentic Mexican food. Had a nice time in SD….

Leave a Reply

