Skip to content

Letters

August 23, 2012

Recently, I was passed up for a promotion. It was extremely embarrassing and discouraging. And I have no one to blame but myself. I take full responsibility.

This is the way I see it. If you do a good job, you get promoted. If you don’t do a good job, you don’t get promoted. Not only do I accept this logic, I wholeheartedly agree with it.

What’s humiliating is that I’ve been at this for 9 years. And in my 9 years, I didn’t show my leaders enough for them to believe in me.

This especially hurt, because it is a big part of who I am…. my identity.

Looking back at my 9 years, I remember servicing preschools. I once drove to Hana, Maui in a raging storm and nearly drove off a cliff.

At the elementary school, I started up iCan Cafés (informal technology training sessions) and the iMua Video broadcasts. I helped to start up the JEM exchange program which most recently brought students from St. Petersburg, Russia.

At the middle school, I supported the 1:1 laptop program and ran a student club that used social media to cover intermediate sports.

At this moment in my life, I feel that God has been teaching me lessons. First of all, I am blessed beyond measure. I still have one of the best jobs in the world! I love what I do, my team, and my students.

Secondly, my identity does not lie (or rely) on my job. My identity is in being a child of God. He has plans for me. I believe that I am called to help those who are in need. In fact, we are all called to love one another. I have much to do….

Lastly, I close with this pic. It is a collection of thank you letters from students over the past 9 years. I’ve kept each one. This is my promotion….

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

