Skip to content

Pac-Man Lite

March 14, 2017
tags:

Travel is my passion. And packing light is my mission. I only fly with one carry-on.

Why? Two reasons.
1. To eliminate the possibility of lost or stolen luggage. I never check my bag. I just bring one carry-on. Because my vacations are always short, losing luggage on Day 1 would pretty much ruin the trip.

2. To be mobile. As soon as I deplane, I’m out the terminal. Because my bag is a backpack, I do not need to drop it off at a hotel. I can go straight to the museum or café. I also do not use a “rolly” bag, which does not work on stairs or cobblestone.

How does minimalist packing work?

Laundry. I pack clothes for 5 days (not including what I’m wearing on the plane.) This means that I would need to do laundry only one time for a 12-day trip. My t-shirts are Nike Dri-FIT and my socks are SmartWool. My shorts are hybrid boardshorts. Undies microfiber…. ahem. Everything hang dries in a few hours.

The Bag:

I have an Osprey Porter 46 travel backpack. It’s the largest allowable carry-on (22″ x 14″ x 9″) according to most airline restrictions. I like that it opens fully, giving you access to all of its contents. Comes with stow away shoulder straps. It’s been one of my best investments.

Packing cubes:

Packing cubes help keep you organized. They compress your clothes and save a lotta space. I slip a Bounce dryer sheet into each one to keep things “fresh.”

Travel wardrobe:

I wear my bulky clothes on the plane. I rotate two pairs of dark blue jeans. I am fond of baseball caps.

Shoes:

I bring just one pair. I know that this is the deal breaker for some. I wear trekker shoes on trips. Great for walking around the city or exploring nature. Super comfortable and waterproof. They’re versatile and can match jeans or shorts.

Jacket:

I wear my jacket on the plane. It’s usually cold. I recommend a black jacket. It’s neutral, and dressy enough to get by.

Electronics:
My iPhone is the only device that I travel with. I’ll bring AC adapters and occasionally a GoPro.

Miscellaneous:

I pack a collapsible daysack inside of my backpack. I always have an umbrella with me. I hate rain. I use a Moleskine notebook for journaling. Toilet paper is an absolute must. I will also bring a Santa Clause hat for my next Christmas card.

Tips:
• My toiletries kit has a hook for hanging. Sometimes you don’t have counter space.
• I print a copy of my passport for my bag, and I email it to myself.
• I stash an ample supply of Airborne Chewables to stay healthy.
• ChapStick & sunscreen will save you.

Minimalism:
Part of what makes you a minimalist is “doing without.” I do sacrifice a few things that a lot of people wouldn’t. I don’t bring slippers or an iPad on my travels anymore. I also don’t bring back souvenirs and “stuff.” I’m too poor. All of my spending money is for food.

Conclusion:
This kind of packing is not for everyone, but it works. It’s so “freeing.” You should try. Pack light….

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2017 6:51 am

    You have so much street (air/travel?) cred! Thanks for sharing your tips. My wife and I did a 2 week trip to Europe with just carry ons. We were not as organized as you but managed somehow. I will put into practice what I learned in your post on our next trip 🙂

    • alantamayose permalink*
      March 16, 2017 8:02 am

      mahalo kaʻala! looking forward to catching up some day. take care!

Leave a Reply

